Garrison Institute to host online forum on meditation and planetary health – Buddhistdoor Global

As part of its exploration of pathways to mitigate human impact on Earth’s health, the New York-based Garrison Institute will host an online forum titled “Pathways to Planetary Health: Dialogue on Meditation” on September 14, examining how meditation can help promote planetary health by transforming human consciousness. The interactive, live-streamed event will feature a conversation between renowned meditation teacher, author, clinician, and mind-body medicine pioneer Jon Kabat-Zinn and Garrison Institute co-founder and founder of the Climate, Mind program. and Behavior Jonathan FP Rose.

“The session will include guided meditations led by Kabat-Zinn,” explained the Garrison Institute. “He will offer suggestions for bringing our lives as we lead them and the life and well-being of the planet into the practice of meditation, so that there is no separation between them.” (Garrison Institute)

Kabat-Zinn is an American Professor of Medicine Emeritus and founder of the Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Clinic at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care, and Society. He was a student of Zen teachers such as Philip Kapleau, Thich Nhat Hanh and Seung Sahn Sunim, and gained international acclaim for his work as a scientist, author and teacher of meditation with an emphasis on the bringing mindfulness into the mainstream of medicine. and society. Kabat-Zinn is the author of several bestselling books, including: Living in Disaster: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Cope with Stress, Pain and Illness; Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life; and Mindfulness for Beginners: Reclaiming the Present Moment and Your Life.

Rose is an American urban planner and real estate developer known for developing affordable and environmentally responsible communities, and a recognized thought leader in the national infrastructure, green building and affordable housing movement. Its business and non-profit activities focus on creating an environmentally, socially and economically responsible world. Rose is the author of several books, including The Well-Tempered City: What Modern Science, Ancient Civilizations, and Human Nature Teach Us About the Future of Urban Life.

This interactive online event will begin at the following times:

Auckland: 6 a.m., Wednesday September 15
Canberra: 4 a.m., Wednesday September 15
Seoul, Tokyo: 3 a.m., Wednesday September 15
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 2 a.m., Wednesday September 15
Bangkok, Jakarta: 6 a.m., Wednesday September 15
New Delhi: 11:30 p.m., Tuesday September 14
Moscow: 9 p.m., Tuesday September 14
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 8 p.m., Tuesday September 14
London: 7 p.m., Tuesday September 14
Montreal, New York: 2 p.m., Tuesday September 14
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 11 a.m., Tuesday September 14

For more details or to register to participate in this event, Click here.

“This interactive online event is part of an ongoing series of the Garrison Institute’s Pathways to Planetary Health (PPH) Forum,” said the Garrison Institute. “Building on the Garrison Institute’s earlier Climate, Mind and Behavior (CMB) program, Pathways to Planetary Health explores the moral, ethical, and human behavioral dimensions of seeking regenerative solutions, including half-Earth, ecological civilization, Regenerative Economy and Societal Altruism (Garrison Institute)

Jon Kabat-Zinn. At garrisoninstitute.com
Jonathan FP Rose.. From garrisoninstitute.com

Founded in Garrison, New York, in 2003, the Garrison Institute was created to “apply the wisdom that comes from contemplation and insights from science to the pressing social and environmental issues of today in order to create a brighter future. compassionate and resilient”, in the belief that “action in the world is more compassionate and effective when imbued with the wisdom and skills cultivated in contemplative practices”. (Garrison Institute) The institute aims to bring the transformative potential of contemplation and the sciences of the mind to bear on the social and environmental crisis facing the world. The goal is to work towards a more compassionate and resilient future through collaboration with scientists, teachers, practitioners and leaders in various fields.

See more

Garrison Institute
Pathways to Planetary Health (Garrison Institute)

Related news reports from Buddhistdoor Global

Dalai Lama talks to Russian scientists about Thukdam Buddhist meditation research
Collective trauma summit highlights the healing power of contemplative practices
The Dalai Lama offers simple advice for living in isolation: meditation and compassion
New UK study shows effectiveness of mindfulness training in medical students
Korean Buddhist Monk Offers Refuge From Suffering With School For The Broken Hearted

Related features of Buddhistdoor Global

Buddhist predictions for the future
No Poverty: The Sustainable Development Goals and Buddhism
Buddhistdoor View: Fostering Friendship to Overcome Global Challenges
Is it Buddhism? The Unity of Spiritual Liberation and Social Justice
Buddhist economics: towards a happier society

Buddhistdoor 2021 Global Special Issue: Humanity in transition